Have you tried searching for your company details in Google Maps? Probably. But it’s even more likely that your clients or potential customers have.

we do communications in Google Maps

The information about your company in Google Maps is ripped from other websites, like the yellow pages. This information can be edited by anyone; Wikipedia style.

As a business owner, you have the opportunity to claim the information about your company in Google Maps. This way, you can be sure that this information in Google Maps is correct and up to date.

In addition, you can:

  • Upgrade your listing with photos, videos, et al
  • Integrate short announcements about your business (e.g. events)
  • View stats on how many people viewed your company details.

Here’s what you need to do to claim your company listing in Google:

  1. Go to Google Maps and search for your company name
  2. Click on ‘More’ and then ‘Edit details’
  3. You are now in the Editing screen. Anyone can edit is information
  4. On the right side of the screen you see the question ‘Are you the business owner?’
  5. Click on the link ‘Claim your business’
  6. Your are now in ‘Google Places’
  7. Fill in all the details about your business
  8. When you’re done, you need to get your data verified
  9. If you choose the ‘By Phone’ option, you will immediately receive an auto call with a PIN code
  10. Enter the PIN code, and you are sorted.

It will take Google a couple of weeks to sync the data between Google Maps and Google Places.

Worth doing! Now!

Related Articles

  1. How to create a company profile on Linkedin
  2. Should I host my blog on my company website?
  • Kelly

    What if the edit button doesn’t appear, does that mean we can’t claim our company listing?

    • http://www.michielgaasterland.com/ MichielGaas

      Hi,

      Sorry for my late reply.
      I was on holiday and missed your reply when I got back.

      The ‘edit’ button should be there under ‘More’, then ‘edit details’.
      If not there: try a different browser. Maybe some sort of bug.
      After ‘edit details’ you need to be logged into your Gmail account in order to edit…

      Best,
      Michiel